Paper Hearts by Claire Contreras

Title: Paper Hearts
Author: Claire Contreras
Series: Hearts (Book #2)
Publication Date: September 9, 2015
Publisher: Claire Contreras
Format: Paperback
ISBN: 9780986416729
Rating: ★★★★★
Purchase: Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Summary: I lost her. No, I didn’t lose her. I threw her away. She was my best friend. I was never supposed to fall in love with her. I was careless. She was heartbroken. I thought I was doing fine. But here she is, years later, forced to work with me, reminding me why I fell in love with her in the first place. And this time I’m going to do everything in my power to never let her go.

My Thoughts:
When I read the first book, Kaleidoscope Hearts, I fell in love with Contreras’ writing style and couldn’t get enough. As much as I liked Oliver and Elle’s story, I found myself wanting nothing more than to know about Mia and Jensen’s past relationship (and more about Victor, but that’s a review for another time when Elastic Hearts comes out later this month. Cue happy tears). I have to admit that I had really high expectations for this book after also reading the novella that came before it. I think my rating speaks for itself; I loved, loved, loved this book. So much.

Like the first book, this is a second chance romance story. Jensen and Mia cross paths again after five years. The past isn’t easily forgotten; Mia still isn’t over what happened between them and even though life’s drastically changed for Jensen, he hasn’t fully gotten over her, either. It seems impossible for them to rekindle what they had before due to circumstances and bad timing. They went through hell and back, and then back again a couple more times throughout. But as one of the quintessential quotes in the book states, “Real love stories never end.”

I can’t say enough about Contreras’ writing. She narrated the story from both Mia and Jensen’s perspectives, and as a reader, I felt for both characters; the way she perfectly penned out their inner struggles and conflicting feelings versus actions was just super intense and gorgeous. Poetic, almost. The fact that Jensen was a writer and had such a penchant for words also lent itself to the story beautifully. It was also fun to revisit all the characters that we got to know in the first book, but getting to expand on the then secondary characters was such a gift. I always love when authors follow up books focusing on different characters– in this case especially, because Mia and Jensen both intrigued me in the first book. I didn’t favour Mia over Jensen or sympathize with Jensen more than Mia, or vice versa. That’s what was captivating about this book; you could relate to both of their situations and it was honestly pretty heart-wrenching to read. My precious babies. I wanted to hug them both.

I read this book for the first time a few months ago in December, and even months later I still find myself going back to it from time to time just to read little quotes and excerpts because it’s that good.

add_goodreads

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Claire is caring, smart, witty, and funny as heck. Despite being a New York Times Best Selling Author of a popular contemporary romance series, Claire doesn’t read many romance novels. However, when she sits down to write, those are the ones that pour from her fingers. Much to her displeasure, we like to say she’s a romantic at heart.

She is a breast cancer survivor who lives in Miami with her good looking husband, two adorable boys, three bulldogs, and two stray cats that she refuses to admit are hers (even though they live on her porch and she continues to feed them). When she’s not writing, she’s always lost in a book (the more suspenseful, the better). (via Goodreads)

CONNECT: Goodreads | Official SiteTwitter | Facebook

Leave a Reply

