Sunday Post #5

The last time I did a Sunday Post was almost 3 months ago, and yes, I do feel bad about that. It’s not because I don’t want to post or have nothing to post about — because it’s actually the exact opposite. There’s so much to say and so, so many books that come my way that I want to share with you guys. SO. Let’s start this up again by covering the last two weeks, because I actually got a lot of reading, reviewing, and posting done despite my hectic offline commitments. I’ve come up with a couple of new features in the last week that I want to add to the blog in order to keep it interesting. When I decided to start blogging again, I never intended for it to be just straight book reviews. I want to do more: product reviews, lifestyle posts, other book-related things like scouring the net for deals, advice for other reviewers, bloggers, how to organize your books, etc. I have plans on plans on plans. But while I let those ideas marinate around in my brain…

The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted at Caffeinated Book Reviewer. It’s a chance to share news — A post to recap the past week on your blog and showcase books and things we have received. Share news about what is coming up on our blog for the week ahead. See rules here: Sunday Post Meme.

Last (2) Week(s)

  • Blog Tour Review: In Place of Never by Julie Anne Lindsey. There’s also a giveaway with this blog tour. It ends in about a week, so get your entries in for a chance to win a copy of the book and some other goodies.
  • ARC Review: In Real Life by Jessica Love, which comes out on Tuesday, March 1.
  • NEW FEATURE – Product Review: Personalized Monogram Ex Libris Rubber Stamp that I use on every book I add to my personal collection.
  • Travel Diaries: Recapped the first part of my trip to New York.
  • ARC Review: The Two-Family House by Lynda Cohen Loigman, which comes out on March 8.
  • Cover Reveal: Elastic Hearts by Claire Contreras, the final book in the Hearts trilogy that comes out this March.

This Week

  • ARC Review: Finding Hope by Colleen Nelson
  • Review: Paper Hearts by Claire Contreras
  • Travel Diaries: Part 2 of my trip to New York
  • ARC Review: Lucky Me by Saba Kapur

Book Haul

20160228_02

I was having the worst day at work and came home to find that Raincoast Books graciously sent me an ARC for The Art of Not Breathing by Sarah Alexander. Huge thanks to them and HMH Books for Young Readers. Can’t wait to start reading this one. The official release date for the book is on April 26th, so look out for it.

20160228_04

This also showed up in my mailbox, courtesy of LibraryThing’s Early Reviewers program. Thanks to Candlewick Press for sending over a copy of Golden Boys by Sonya Harnett. From my understanding, this title has been out in Australia for a while now, but it’s being released in North America on April 12th, so again, be on the look-out for this one. Side note: I’m so in love with this cover.

20160228_01

I ordered paperback copies of Kaleidoscope Hearts and Paper Hearts by Claire Contreras from Amazon, and I’m so happy they’re now in my possession. I’m such a huge fan of this series and while I own the e-books, I think most of us agree that it’s different when you have a physical copy. Plus I plan on buying the final installment, Elastic Hearts, when it comes out in March and need my collection to be complete. I was so ecstatic to be a part of the cover reveal for the last book, and I’ll be posting a review of Paper Hearts really soon, just to get myself even more hyped up for the conclusion of this amazing series. If you’re not on Claire’s mailing list or in her Facebook group, I highly suggest it (be sure to check out my post for links). She’s so lovely.

20160228_egalley

ARCs, ARCs, and more ARCs! What a time to be alive. I just hope I don’t fall behind schedule in reviewing all of these, but that shouldn’t be a problem since I’m really looking forward to digging into all of these titles. There are a lot of great books coming out this year; these in particular are a good variety to pick from depending on your mood — I urge you all to put these ones on your TBR. Thanks to Sourcebooks for the copies of Wild Swans by Jessica Spotswood (May 3rd) and My Kind of Crazy by Robin Reul (April 5th); to Raincoast Books and Macmillan for The Square Root of Summer by Harriet Reuter Hapgood (May 3rd) and Summer Days and Summer Nights edited by Stephanie Perkins (May 17th); ABRAMS Kids for Devil and the Bluebird by Jennifer Mason-Black (May 17th); and finally Atria/Emily Bestler Books for The Regulars by Georgia Clark (August 2nd).

20160228_03

Dirty Pretty Things by Michael Faudet is my latest purchase from the bookstore. I had heard about this book a while ago and was always meaning to read it, but being that I’m not particularly huge on poetry, it was never really high up on my reading priorities list. But that cover! Love. Nevertheless, I’m pretty stoked to get through this one. I’ve heard fairly good things about it. It’s not my usual type of read (format and subject-wise), but I promised myself to step out of my comfort zone this year when it comes to the books I read.


What I’m Reading

  1. Golden Son by Pierce Brown (Red Rising, Book 2)
  2. Only by Helenkay Dimon (Holton Woods, Book 2)

Bookstagram

Follow me at @audreysbookcase


Life & Such

I’m only taking one library course right now because it’s all I have time for between work and other stuff, but it’s seriously kicking my ass. Like all the way to the eastern hemisphere. By far the hardest course I’ve taken in my program. I don’t know if it’s because I’m not able to put in as much time into studying as I want to because of work and the never-ending urge to read books instead, lol. It’s likely because this is the only online course in the entire program that uses set timelines; assignments are due on a certain date, exams need to be taken on specific dates. It’s not “at your own pace” like all of my other classes, so that’s definitely been making things a little difficult. But either way, I need to get it together for my midterms at the end of this week. Wish me luck!

Hope everyone has a fantastic week, and a great start to the month of March.

20 thoughts on “Sunday Post #5

  1. Lexxie @ (un)Conventional Bookviews says:

    Welcome back, Audrey 🙂 And good luck getting ready for your midterms. I’m sure you’ll do well, even if this class has been harder than your other classes.
    Your new books look amazing. The Art of Not Breathing is one I can’t wait to read myself.
    Have a wonderful week ahead and happy reading.

    Like

  2. Just Jitty says:

    I feel like I am behind the bandwagon because I have yet to read the Red Rising Trilogy and everyone is confused by that because it is right up my alley. I don’t know, I am hesitant because of all the hyped and they don’t always live up to expectations…I look forward to reading your thoughts on Golden Son though!

    Like

    • Audrey Dawn says:

      Yeah I can understand that. I’m personally not an expert on sci-fi books, so when I started reading this series I had no idea what I was getting into, but it’s amazing so far. Thanks, and hopefully you’ll give the books a chance 😉

      Like

  3. lattenightsreviews says:

    I love the Hearts series!! I cannot wait for Elastic Hearts! I need in my life! I really want to read My Kind of Crazy. I hope you love it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

