Friday Post: Happy New Year!

yearinbooks2015With 2015 being incredibly fast and full of changes, I wasn’t sure if I’d reach my goal of completing 50 books by the end of December, mainly because this past year and a half consisted of moving to a new city, working and going to school, moving back home and doing even more school and more and more work. I set my goal to be a bit lower than usual. Even then I didn’t think I’d even reach the half point. But to my surprise, I managed to surpass my end goal by 3 books. I always tend to read more around October to December — I’m pretty sure half my books were completed around this time. Now that I’m a bit more settled, I’m setting my goal higher at 100 books for 2016.

First Book of 2016

FindingHope_CN
The first book I’m reading in 2016 is Finding Hope by Colleen Nelson. Now, this book already resonates with me not just because of the story, but because the author is homegrown. One of the goals I’ve set this year is to read more local books, and I felt even more lucky to receive an ARC for Finding Hope after reading that Colleen is from Winnipeg. Ours is the little city that could; I strongly believe that. I’ve seen some of the most creative minds come from this place, and I’m excited to get the chance to read Colleen’s words.

Feature & Follow Friday

Hosted by Parajunkee’s View and Alison Can Read, today’s edition asks: What books are you most excited for in 2016? If you want to participate in the blog hop, check out both hosts and add your link.

  1. Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare is undoubtedly at the top of my list. I’m sad that the Mortal Instruments series has ended, but I’m looking forward to see where the Dark Artifices takes the Shadowhunter world.
  2. I know people who follow me are probably sick of me blogging about Colleen Hoover, but… well it’s my blog, so It Ends with Us by Colleen Hoover it is. I don’t have a hot clue what this book is about but considering that I constantly fawn over everything she writes, I’m excited.
  3. Summer Days & Summer Nights: Twelve Love Stories by Stephanie Perkins features a slew of YA authors including Veronica Roth, Jon Skovron, Cassandra Clare, Libba Bray, and Jennifer E. Smith. If that (partial) list doesn’t get you the least bit intrigued, then we have a serious problem here.
  4. I’ve been looking forward to He Will Be My Ruin by K.A. Tucker for quite a while now. It’s not my usual choice of genre, but the summary cemented it as one to look out for.
  5. Lastly, it’s not so much a book that I’m excited to read — I’m excited for it to be released so everyone can get a chance to read it. And honestly, so I can read it again in all its finalized glory. It’s Will You Won’t You Want Me? by Nora Zelevansky. It’s set for release in April, and I really wish the best success for this book — it’s well-deserved.

Follow me on Bloglovin’, Instagram, and here on WordPress by clinking the button on the sidebar.

20160101

Have you set a reading goal for the new year? What books are YOU most excited for? Do you already know what your first read of the year will be? But most importantly, have a happy, happy new year; stay safe, have fun, and best wishes for 2016!

5 thoughts on “Friday Post: Happy New Year!

  1. susanfaw says:

    Hi Audrey! So nice to find another Canadian 🙂 I haven’t read any of Cassandra Clare’s work yet (I know, I know!) but i did buy a copy of the Clockwork series for my daughter for Christmas and will steal it at some point!

    I am soon to be published (I can finally say it!) THIS YEAR lol My #FF is attached here 🙂 Happy New Year! http://wp.me/s5WCdr-2242

    Like

Leave a Reply

