He Found Me by Whitney Barbetti

20151211Title: He Found Me
Author: Whitney Barbetti
Series: He Found Me (Book #1)
Publication Date: May 22, 2014
Publisher: Createspace Publishing
Format: eBook
ISBN: 9781499395808
Rating: ★★☆☆☆
Purchase: Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Summary: When I was seventeen, I disappeared. I walked out the door of my apartment with a backpack and never looked back. I left the life of Cora Mitchell behind, seeking freedom from my real-life nightmare. But my freedom came with a cost. I lived a fictitious life for the next six years, never letting anyone close enough to see underneath the facade that was Andra Walker. I was content with my simple little life. Until I met Julian. And the moment I started allowing myself to open up, allowing someone to see through the superficial, was the very same moment the Monster from my past would return to find me.”

My Thoughts:
I got this book for free in late 2014 on Amazon and it served as my gym read earlier this year when I actually used to bother going to the gym once upon a time. It kept me occupied, that’s for sure. I’d read for 2 hours at a time and it flew by like it was nothing. That said, I thought the book was pretty good. I didn’t hate it, but I wasn’t completely over the moon about it. What I did enjoy most wasn’t the romance that the book looks to be marketed as, but the suspense and thrill of the story. And I’m not actually a huge fan of suspense or thriller novels.

Mainly it was the fact that the past could catch up with the main character, Cora/Andra, at any time and the nagging need to know exactly what happened to her years ago that kept me invested in this story. I also appreciate an author who can be so descriptive in their writing that I can actually picture the setting and feel the atmosphere.

Aside from that, the rest was bleak. I did enjoy the relationship between Cora and Julian at times. But my major gripe with their relationship was how very, incredibly rushed it felt. It was nice to see Cora happy after the complete s#!*storm she so obviously went through when she was younger. Still. Insta-lust or insta-love isn’t a lot of people’s cup of tea, like myself, and I have a hard time even deciphering when their lust turned into love because it happened pretty quickly. Days? A week? And moreover, I found it really frustrating that, while I was invested in Cora’s past and waiting for a huge twist and the impending climax, it didn’t turn out to be very believable. What a letdown.

The cliffhanger at the end kind of piqued my interest in the next installation, though. So I might check that out.

add_goodreads

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

I am a wife to one and a mom to two humans and one cat. I have a deep and abiding love for nachos – especially the kind with the liquid cheese, like from Taco Bell (sorry). I run on less than four hours of sleep thanks to copious amounts of Diet Dr. Pepper. (Note: this paragraph is not sponsored by anyone except my hungry stomach.)

As a Navy brat, I grew up all over the country, from California, up the east coast from Florida to New England and Colorado. I currently live in Idaho, where we have lots of potatoes and windmills.

I write character-driven New Adult novels, heavy on the emotional connection. I LOVE love. I love writing about broken characters who find their soul mates. (via Official Site)

CONNECT: Goodreads | Official SiteTwitter | Facebook

3 thoughts on “He Found Me by Whitney Barbetti

Leave a Reply

