Sunday Post #3

So I completely didn’t stick to my reviewing schedule at all. I rarely ever do. It tends to happen when I’m reading books simultaneously and I finish one that I can’t not write about the second it’s done. This was one of those weeks. Regardless, I did find time to reflect on a lot; here’s what happened on the blog this past week:

The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted at Caffeinated Book Reviewer. It’s a chance to share news — A post to recap the past week on your blog and showcase books and things we have received. Share news about what is coming up on our blog for the week ahead. See rules here: Sunday Post Meme.

Last Week

This Week

  • Review: Ink by Amanda Sun
  • Review: He Found Me by Whitney Barbetti

New Arrivals

20151129_newarr1

I picked up Hollow City by Ransom Riggs, because I own the first book which is on my TBR list. And as I mentioned before, I tend to spend money on books I’m missing from series. I’ve always thought ‘Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children’ had such an interesting premise, and was pleasantly surprised to see that Riggs was continuing on with a series. I have some catching up to do!

20151129_newarr2

I’d never heard of any of these titles before, but an hour and a half of perusing, bargain hunting, and achy arms resulted in a haul of some worthwhile finds at the bookstore. I snagged China Dolls by Lisa See, Spare Brides by Adele Park, Heroes of Olympus by Philip Freeman/Laurie Calkhoven, Bleed Like Me by Christa Desir, Hideous Love: The Story of the Girl Who Wrote Frankenstein by Stephanie Hemphill, and Cain by the late and brilliant José Saramago.

20151129_box.jpg

I received my first book subscription box over the past week, which was such a pleasure. I love getting packages in the mail, I really do. This one is from OwlCrate, a monthly YA subscription box. The November theme was Myths & Legends, so I just knew I had to sign up. This is what I got:

  • Soundless by Richelle Mead, which came with a bookmark and temporary tattoos from Vampire Academy
  • A mermaid pocket mirror from My Clockwork Castle
  • A Camp Half-Blood (Percy Jackson series) bracelet from The Colorful Geek
  • A castle locket necklace from The Geeky Cauldron
  • Sleeping Beauty tea from Adagio Teas (Note: I’m so in love with this tea. It smells incredible and is fantastic any time of the day)

Life & Such

20151129_lib

It’s very rare that I read non-fiction books unless they’re for school or a biography on someone whose work I enjoy. But lately, I’ve been reading more and more, especially books related to library operations, book publishing, and literature in general. I guess I got so used to being in school for this stuff full-time over the last year, and now that I’m doing it part-time and my school readings aren’t as piled up as usual, I found myself missing it. So I took a stroll down to the library a few days ago during lunch and checked out some books to fill that void. The first is called How to Talk About Books You Haven’t Read by Pierre Bayard. I mainly picked it out because I thought the title was hilarious, and I thought about many conversations I’ve had with people about books they’ve liked that I’ve never even heard of. It’s pretty hard to do that if neither of you are — pardon the horrible pun — on the same page. I still haven’t read it, ironically enough. But I’m looking forward to what Bayard has to say. The second book is This is Not the End of the Book by Umberto Eco and Jean-Claude Carrière. This one I picked up because of it’s lovely cover. Then I read the synopsis and was extremely intrigued. Eco has always been such a fascinating person to me, so to be able to read a play-by-play conversation between him and Carrière, a screenwriter, actor, and fellow bibliophile, is a treat. The book is basically a conversation between the two (it literally reads as a huge transcript split into chapters) about books, the fate of books in this generation that relies heavily on technology, collecting books, and more. It talks about how physical books will survive and surpass the digital age, and Eco alludes to that theory really early on with this quote that I thought was brilliant: “The book is like the spoon: once invented, it cannot be bettered.

Do you agree with Eco? Disagree? I mean I think we all share the same answer, but I’d love to hear your thoughts. Also, how do you deal with conversations with people who talk about books you’ve never read?

Leave me a comment! And have a fantastic week. 🙂

13 thoughts on “Sunday Post #3

  1. thecrazybookworm says:

    Audrey, looks like you had a wonderful week! I am so in-love with the books you posted and talked about, and the photos are so pretty! I can never quite handle a camera in a way that produces pretty pictures :/

    I’m also really curious about Heroes of Olympus?? I only know the one by Rick Riordan (who I’m a big fan of) but this one is by different authors and I’m really keen on checking it out!

    Like

  2. joanndownie says:

    Hi, I just found your blog through the Sunday Post, I love visiting on Sundays!! i just lit my glade pine scented candle and am all set!! I really enjoyed your post and I hope you will have a good reading week!!

    Like

  3. thebookdisciple says:

    I have been thinking about subscribing to owl crate! I already get The Bookworm Box and Lit-cube but it would be nice to have a YA box that I can share with my students! I love getting stuff in the mail as well. Its like Christmas!

    Like

  4. Deborah says:

    Wow! Some fabulous books there Audrey. I just love the covers of the Peculiar Children series!

    And I’m with you on non-fiction… I mostly stick to fiction because I enjoy it so!

    Like

  5. Jade @ Reading With Jade says:

    It looks like you snagged some great books at the bookstore.

    I’m hoping to read Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children this week actually. I’ve read the first book, but hadn’t continued with the series ( as is always the way with me ) but then I saw the next two at the library and thought what better time to read the series in its entirety.

    Like

Leave a Reply

