Sunday Post #2

It’s been a really busy week with school, work, and family commitments, but I’m still standing, so that’s a pretty good sign. Unfortunately I didn’t have a lot of time to do all the reading I wanted, though it was a good week on the blog nonetheless. Here’s another Sunday Post for you all:

The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted at Caffeinated Book Reviewer. It’s a chance to share news — A post to recap the past week on your blog and showcase books and things we have received. Share news about what is coming up on our blog for the week ahead. See rules here: Sunday Post Meme.

Last Week

This Week

    • Review: Crazy Rich Asians by Kevin Kwan
    • Review: He Found Me by Whitney Barbetti

New Arrivals

New Arrivals - Illuminae

I’ve been hearing a lot about Illuminae, so I knew I had to add it to my TBR pile. I haven’t read a sci-fi or dystopian book in forever it seems, and it’s really a shame because there was a point in the last few years that all I read were those type of YA books. Hopefully this book will get me back into it. And really, the cover alone is enough to draw me to this book — it’s gorgeous!

New Arrivals - Jane Eyre

It was only when I actually sat down and started organizing my book collection earlier this year that I noticed I have several editions of certain books. When it comes to classic literature, you can never have enough — even if it’s of the same novel. I picked up another edition of Jane Eyre last week at a local bookstore. I’d never seen this 1984 Reader’s Digest edition before, so I just had to have it. There are some really interesting illustrations in it that I just might have to feature in a future blog post.

New Arrivals -

In addition to Jane Eyre, I also picked up Matchless: A Christmas Story from the bookstore to get me into the holiday season. I’m a huge fan of both Hans Christian Andersen and Gregory Maguire and when I discovered that the latter wrote a retelling, I automatically purchased it. I’ve always known ‘The Little Match Girl’ by Andersen to be a bittersweet story, so I’m interested to read Maguire’s take on it, just as I was with his other books.


Life & Such

As I mentioned earlier, it’s been a hectic week. Work in particular has been kicking my ass. There are days when things are pretty slow, so I have time to catch up and organize my stuff, but all that can change in a second. That’s mostly what I like about the job, though — I’m never bored or run out of things to do. Right now, I’m working on researching database management practices and decided to take to the public library to help me figure some things out on the topic. I haven’t checked any books out yet, but sifting through some of them gave me some ideas both for work and on how to better manage my own personal book collection at home. Right now, besides Goodreads, I have a pretty simple Excel spreadsheet that I created a while back to track both physical and electronic books, and it’s been working so far for what I want it to do. But I’ve discovered Access is a great way to maintain larger databases, which would help me especially with my growing collection. The only challenge is that Access is a whole other language and takes a lot of time to learn. I have a basic grasp of what it can do, thanks to one of my school courses, but it’ll take me a while to actually be able to fully make sense of it. I’m currently weighing the pros and cons of both Microsoft programs, so we’ll see what happens!

Do you keep track of your books somehow? What are some of the methods you use to do so?

I hope everyone has a great week. Happy reading!

15 thoughts on “Sunday Post #2

  1. fangswandsfairy(alt) says:

    In re book tracking: I use goodreads, but going forward with my ARCs I am going to try to stay organized with an excel spreadsheet. Otherwise, unless I end up buying the same book twice I don’t think it is important to me, for some reason, although I understand that it is for a lot of people.

    Like

    • Audrey Dawn says:

      That’s good thinking. Keeping track of ARCs is definitely important as a reviewer, you don’t want to forget anything especially if you’re reading multiple books at a time. I find myself buying several editions of books that I really like, so a spreadsheet or some kind of tracking system has been extremely beneficial. Thanks for the comment!

      Like

  2. Dreams says:

    I loved, loved, loved Illuminae! I really hope you do as well.

    As far as tracking my books goes, I just use Goodreads and a few spreadsheets that Crini’s made. (ARCs/Read books) I tend to forget to update anything else.

    Like

    • Audrey Dawn says:

      I can’t wait to get started on it!

      I love her book series spreadsheet. And yeah, I agree, it’s hard to keep track of, but it’s validating when I spend a few hours and finally get it up to date, lol.

      Thanks for dropping by!

      Like

  3. Deborah says:

    I was using this basic project management tool called Trello. There’s a post on my blog about it. I won’t link it – don’t want to be too self-promotion-like! 😉

    Hope this week isn’t quite as busy and you get more reading done.

    I’ve heard great things about Illuminae (including the fact it’s already been snapped up for a movie!), so enjoy!

    Like

    • Audrey Dawn says:

      Nice! I’ve never heard of Trello before, but I just might have to look into this. I’ve just quickly looked up your blog post and am liking what I’m seeing. Thanks for sharing!

      I hope so, too. Lots of schoolwork to catch up on, so we’ll see how it all goes.

      That’s incredible that they’ve already thought of adapting it into a movie. This is all just getting me more hyped up to read it.

      Thanks for stopping by!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. whatkimreadnext says:

    Glad to see I’m not the only one who ends up collecting different editions of classic lit. I have so many editions of Austen & Bronte novels, it’s getting a little ridiculous. That edition of Jane Eyre looks gorgeous, I’d love to see the illustrations!

    Like

Leave a Reply

