The Air He Breathes by Brittainy C. Cherry

The Air He Breathes by Brittainy C. CherryTitle: The Air He Breathes
Author: Brittainy C. Cherry
Series: Elements (Book #1)
Publication Date: September 25, 2015
Publisher: BCherry Books
Format: eBook
ISBN: 151738799X
Rating: ★★★☆☆
Purchase: Amazon
Summary: I was warned about Tristan Cole. “Stay away from him,” people said. “He’s cruel.” “He’s cold.” “He’s damaged.” It’s easy to judge a man because of his past. To look at Tristan and see a monster. But I couldn’t do that. I had to accept the wreckage that lived inside of him because it also lived inside of me. We were both empty. We were both looking for something else. Something more. We both wanted to put together the shattered pieces of our yesterdays. Then perhaps we could finally remember how to breathe.

My Thoughts:
I’ve read a lot of reviews praising this book, so I wanted to see what the big deal was and check it out for myself. Unfortunately, my enthusiasm by the end of it didn’t compare to the slew of 5-star reviews posted on Goodreads. I liked the book, sure. I actually really, really liked it. But there were a few things that I just couldn’t get into that affected my enjoyment during different parts of the story.

Let’s get the not-so-good out of the way first. This honestly could have been one of the most amazing books in its genre this year. Two extremely broken people getting second chances at love and life after a chance meeting is the perfect formula for a timeless romance. The last quarter of the book, however, just got really over-the-top that I had to go back and check if I was still reading the same book (I exaggerate, of course). And okay, I forgive the predictability early on in the story, but once my suspicions were confirmed, everything just took a downward spiral after that. It turned into one of those soap operas that I used to watch with my grandma when I stayed home from school.

But for what it’s worth, Cherry did an amazing job with her two main characters. She wrote with this fluid and metaphorical tone that cemented how right Tristan and Elizabeth’s relationship could be if they gave their hearts a chance. I don’t want to spoil too much, but there was one point fairly early on that made me stop reading and lay my head down on the table for a few seconds because oh my God above, it was the sweetest thing ever. Feathers. That’s all I can say. I’m getting emotional just thinking about it. The way they coped with their pasts together bordered on destructive; I could feel how shattered they both were, but it was so fascinating and heavy and just raw. If you’re a fan of angst, have at this book. It’s chock-full of it.

I wish the book stayed consistent in its entirety. Unfortunately the last bit got really chaotic and rushed that I couldn’t even comprehend what was going on while I was reading it. I might have even skimmed over a few pages just to get to the epilogue (which maybe redeemed another half star, by the way). It’s upsetting for anyone when you have to resort to that. I would’ve rated it 5 stars otherwise, because it really was incredibly good to start off with.

add_goodreads

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Brittainy C. Cherry has been in love with words since the day she took her first breath. She graduated from Carroll University with a Bachelors Degree in Theatre Arts and a minor in Creative Writing. She loves to take part in writing screenplays, acting, and dancing–poorly of course. Coffee, chai tea, and wine are three things that she believes every person should partake in. Brittainy lives in Milwaukee, Wisconsin with her family. When she’s not running a million errands and crafting stories, she’s probably playing with her adorable pets. (via Official Site)

CONNECT: Goodreads | Official Site | Twitter | Facebook

One thought on “The Air He Breathes by Brittainy C. Cherry

Leave a Reply

