Sunday Post #1

One of the things that I missed about book blogging was taking part in different weekly memes and getting to network with other bloggers. A favourite feature of mine was doing a weekly wrap-up and reflecting and letting my readers know what to expect the following week. Sundays are always a great day to do so; I find that I’m able to think and relax more on this particular day. The meme that I always, always took part in was the Sunday Post. So without further ado:

The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted at Caffeinated Book Reviewer. It’s a chance to share news — A post to recap the past week on your blog and showcase books and things we have received. Share news about what is coming up on our blog for the week ahead. See rules here: Sunday Post Meme.

Last Week:
Review: The Boy Most Likely To by Huntley Fitzpatrick

This Week:
Review: The Air He Breathes by Brittainy C. Cherry


New Arrivals:
New Arrivals - November 9

The much anticipated November 9 just came out last week. Colleen Hoover recently posted on her website that the book is sold out and they’re working on printing more copies. That’s how damn good this book is. Last week I rushed the hell over to my nearest bookstore, which only carried 2 copies on release day. Luckily I got the last one… even though I went there only an hour after they opened. I wish I had more time right now to finish this, because I’m in the middle of it and I hate having to take breaks when all I want to do is curl up in bed and read.

New Arrivals - The Mango Bride

I found The Mango Bride on sale a few days ago, which was perfect timing because I’ve had my Amazon cart full of fiction written by or about Filipinos and life in the Philippines. This was one of them, so this saves having to wait for it to be shipped to me. It’s rare for me to find novels like these, where people of my ethnicity are the main focus. I’m so happy to add this one to my currently small but growing collection.

eBooks - November 8-13

A huge thank you to NetGalley and St. Martin’s Press for providing me with ARCs of these three books. This is my first batch since I relaunched the blog, but I remember I could always count on St. Martin’s Press to publish quality books (it was thanks to NetGalley that I discovered the awesome Rainbow Rowell). And on a different note: just looking at one of the books, I’ll See You in Paris gives me a heavy feeling in my chest right now. My thoughts are with all those affected by the tragic events that took place in Paris, France these last few days.


Life & Such:
As you can probably tell, I’ve been taking my time with getting content up. I’m currently busy with school since I’m close to exam-time. Thankfully my schoolwork doesn’t stray far from what I love, which is — of course — books. When I’m not reading novels, I’m studying the science behind operating one of our favourite places to acquire novels and all sorts of other information: the library. I still have about a year to go to finish up my Library Information Technology program, but even when I’m not doing my required reading, I find myself still wanting to soak in as much as I can. So this past week, I dropped by the city’s central library close to where I work and picked up these books for a little bit of preparation for finals.

Library Haul - Week of November 8-15

Interestingly enough, I checked out two books that contrast each other completely. One is an information guide about libraries having moved towards digital technology and how organizations have managed and continue to manage it. The other is a pretty hard-hitting and opinionated expose on the lack of efforts made in the past to keep printed media around. I’m reading these two books simultaneously and it’s so interesting to see differing viewpoints on the preservation of information in the library field. It just shows how vast this industry is and how it extends beyond books and reading.

15 thoughts on “Sunday Post #1

  1. Red Iza says:

    I’d love to take a look at your books about printed media versus digital information, that looks quite interesting 🙂 Enjoy your sunday !

    Like

  2. laurelrainsnow says:

    Wow, I haven’t visited your blog before….and apparently you were a regular blogger for a while. Then you took a break? Anyway, welcome back, and this time I’m following you.

    I scrolled down to your review of Confess by Hoover…and now I want to read it! I loved Ugly Love, and I now have November 9….but it seems as though my enjoyment of the one book I have read so far was probably not a fluke.

    Thanks for sharing…and for visiting my blog.

    Like

      • Audrey Dawn says:

        Oh yes! I realized my layout wasn’t so user-friendly, as pretty as I think it is, lol. I changed it and added a sidebar so my links are more visible 😉 Thanks for following (in advance, haha)!

        Like

    • Audrey Dawn says:

      Yes, I blogged for about a year and a half but school and real life took over. Luckily I’m studying library science now so I’m able to read more.

      I fell so in love with Confess. I read Ugly Love and man, that one was so good. I thought reading Confess would be a one-off thing, too. But I’m loving everything I’m reading by her so far. I hope you enjoy November 9! I’d love to hear your thoughts.

      Thanks for visiting!

      Like

    • Audrey Dawn says:

      Amazing! I’d love to pursue my graduate studies, I’m still deciding and I’ve heard it’s a lot of work. So good for you for almost being done! Agreed, I’m enjoying the required readings, and I only have time to read for leisure quite a bit right now because I’m only doing one course at a time. January’s going to be busy. Best of luck with your studies and thanks for dropping by!

      Like

  3. Christy LoveOfBooks says:

    Yesss November 9 love! 😀 Oh cool, I bet reading those two books simultaneously really does give a various perspectives. Good luck on your exams and have a great week.

    Like

    • Audrey Dawn says:

      This book is ruining me, lol. It’s amazing.

      I’m so used to having digital technology available at my fingertips when I’m at the library (as I’m sure we all are!) and the expose is definitely opening my eyes on some things.

      Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

Leave a Reply

