The Boy Most Likely To by Huntley Fitzpatrick

The Boy Most Likely To by Huntley FitzpatrickTitle: The Boy Most Likely To
Author: Huntley Fitzpatrick
Publication Date: August 18, 2015
Publisher: Dial Books
Format: Hardcover
ISBN: 9781476791456
Rating: ★★★★☆
Purchase: Amazon | Indigo | Barnes & Noble
Summary: Tim Mason was The Boy Most Likely To find the liquor cabinet blindfolded, need a liver transplant, and drive his car into a house. Alice Garrett was The Girl Most Likely To . . . well, not date her little brother’s baggage-burdened best friend, for starters. For Tim, it wouldn’t be smart to fall for Alice. For Alice, nothing could be scarier than falling for Tim. But Tim has never been known for making the smart choice, and Alice is starting to wonder if the “smart” choice is always the right one. When these two crash into each other, they crash hard. Then the unexpected consequences of Tim’s wild days come back to shock him. He finds himself in a situation that isn’t all it appears to be, that he never could have predicted . . . but maybe should have. And Alice is caught in the middle.

My Thoughts:
I waited a good three years for this book to come out. After reading My Life Next Door, I found myself wanting more of Tim’s story. I wanted so badly for him to have his happy ending and be able to read about it. Was The Boy Most Likely To worth the wait? I’ll get to that. But I will mention that, as with any highly-anticipated follow-up, there were expectations. I have to admit that I had a whole lot of them in my head, only to be left a teeny, tiny bit disappointed… as in one whole stars worth.

Most of my love for this book goes towards how Tim was written. His sense of humour was one of my favourite things in MLND and I was relieved that Fitzpatrick kept it consistent in the sequel. But behind all that self-deprecation and use of humour as a defense-mechanism is a troubled kid who just wants to turn his life around. The whole book was an interesting follow-up to the first installment because of how real it was; Tim is a character with real issues. And it’s not often that a YA novel tackles the kinds of karma that can happen after someone goes through the amount of things Tim went through. But here’s where it lost me. Over the course of the book, Tim’s past comes back to haunt him in one of the most “why didn’t I see that coming?” storylines possible. It was believable in a sense, but something about it rubbed me the wrong way, and the new character that Fitzpatrick brought in annoyed me so much that I kind of had to force myself to read through those bits with her in it for the sake of getting it over with. But Tim’s story is only one-half of this whole. The other half is Alice, who’s got problems of her own to worry about. She’s amazingly sure of herself as an individual, but she puts all this pressure on herself to hold her family together. Even through her developing relationship with Tim, she knows what her priorities are, and she has no time to eff around. Tim knows this, so he sees Alice as the one person who can be real with him and not take any of his s*@t. Which is why I loved their relationship. They balanced each other out amidst all the chaos.

Overall, I really liked the book. Even though the plot twists somewhat threw me, it didn’t take away from my enjoyment of being able to revisit the ever entertaining Garrett family and other familiar characters and settings. To be fair, I did find myself loving 90% of the new characters and enjoyed how the story unfolded. The good outweighed the bad with this one, and I’m ultimately satisfied. So yes, it was worth the wait.

add_goodreads

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Huntley Fitzpatrick grew up dreamy and distracted in coastal Connecticut. She flourished in a family of bookworms where everyone always had their nose in a book. She kept an exhaustively thorough journal which frightened her boyfriends but has proved very useful in her career as a writer. Her debut contemporary Romance, MY LIFE NEXT DOOR, was published in June of 2012 by Penguin-Dial for Young Readers. Now she laughs with and eavesdrops on her six children who provide her with perspective and material. She is represented by the amazing Christina Hogrebe of the Jane Rotrosen Agency. (via Goodreads)

CONNECT: Goodreads | Official Site | Twitter | Facebook

One thought on “The Boy Most Likely To by Huntley Fitzpatrick

Leave a Reply

